Latest Events Klimathon Accelerated Climate Action and Transformation for Local Communities National Panel of Technical Experts Forum Business Climate Action Summit 6th Asia-Pacific Climate Change Adaptation Forum



The Climate Change Commission (CCC) is ready to conclude its first-ever Klima Film Festival (KFF), a project which aims to mainstream the effects of climate change through compelling storytelling and cinematic techniques. The KFF is being held in collaboration with the Oscar M. Lopez Center (OML Center) as a component of its Balangay Project.

The Klima Film Festival aims to:

  • Increase awareness and understanding of climate change through the use of film;
  • Involve the youth in mainstreaming information on the effects of climate change in their regions;
  • Highlight climate change adaptation and mitigation through the perspectives of young filmmakers; and
  • Provide a venue for short climate films by generating science-based storytelling.
After a series of activities which involves webinar-workshop, mentoring sessions, and rigid film production of participating teams; the KFF is prepared to recognize best films from different regions for this year. The Klima Film Festival Awards Day will be held on November 25, 2020 in line with the celebration of the 13th Annual Global Warming and Climate Change Consciousness Week and the National Day for Youth in Climate Action.


The KFF Awards Day aims to facilitate the following:
  • To recognize the top ten films of the competition and to award special and major citations to participating film entries,
  • To highlight the overall journey of the young filmmakers in completing their Klima films; and
  • To invite Filipino audiences to continue supporting the Klima Film Festival for the continuity of the project.
The KFF Awards Day will be undertaken in collaboration with the iWant TFC as the KFF’s Official Media Partner.


[This component may be modified in collaboration with iWantTFC.]
Finalists will be judged by juries composed of the following:
1.     Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda
2.     Atty. Rachel Anne Herrera, Commissioner, CCC
3.     Mr. Ramon Cualoping III, Director-General, PIA
4.     Dr. Joan Lagunda, Assistant Secretary, DENR
5.     Mr. Antonio Lambino, Assistant Secretary, DOF
6.     Dr. Carlos Primo David, Chair, CCC-National Panel of Technical Experts
7.     Dr. Rodel D. Lasco, Executive Director, Oscar M. Lopez Center
8.     Mr. Eric Oteyza de Guia (Kidlat Tahimik), Film Director 
9.     Mr. Lavrente Indico Diaz, Film Director
10. Mr. Brillante Mendoza, Film Director
Special Judge: Representative from the Philippine Commission on Women for the Most Gender Responsive Film.


The Klima Film Festival will award the Best Film (Php50,000), 1st Runner Up (Php30,000), and 2nd Runner Up (Php20,000). The remaining finalists will receive Php 5,000 each.

Special Awards – Php3,000 each – include the Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Musical Scoring, Best Performance, Best in Research and Content, Gender Responsive Award, Audience Choice Award, Best Poster and Most Liked Teaser.


The draft program below outlines the general flow of the proposed KFF Awards Day.
1:50 – 1:59 Promotional Videos of the Climate Change Commission and collaborating partners
2:00 – 2:10 Prayer and National Anthem
2:11 – 2:15 Opening Performance
KFF Youth Partners
2:16 – 2:20 Klima Film Festival: Overview Video
2:21 - 2:25 Welcome Message
Secretary Emmanuel M. de Guzman
Climate Change Commission
2:26 - 2:30 Opening Message
Chairman Federico Lopez
Oscar M. Lopez Center
2:31 – 2:35 Inspirational Message on behalf of the Panel of Judges
Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda
2:36 – 2:40 Presentation of the Members of the Panel of Judges
KFF Secretariat
2:41 – 2:45 PHOTO SESSION
2:46 – 2:50 Journey of KFF Participating Youth
2:51 – 3:15
Presentation of Special Awards
Most Liked Teaser
Best Poster
Audience Choice Award
Gender Responsive Award
Best in Research and Content
3:16 – 3:20 PHOTO SESSION
3:21 – 3:50  
Presentation of Major Awards
Best Musical Scoring
Best Production Design
Best Cinematography
Best Screenplay
Best Performance
Best Director
3:51 – 3:55 PHOTO SESSION
3:56 – 4:05 Presentation of Klima Film Festival Top 10 Finalists
KFF Secretariat
4:06 – 4:10 PHOTO SESSION
4:11 – 4:25  
Presentation of Grand Winners
2nd Runner Up
1st Runner Up
Best Film
4:26 – 4:30 PHOTO SESSION
4:31 – 4:35 Congratulatory Messages from Collaborating Partners
iWant TFC
4:36 – 4:40 Congratulatory Messages from KFF Core Team
Climate Change Commission
Oscar M. Lopez Center
4:41 – 4:50 Promotional Videos of the Climate Change Commission and Collaborating Partners